GSoC ’09: Mesquite

Since 5/23 June 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kasiahayden @ 10:12 pm

Now that my finals are over and I’ve played GSoC catch-up for a week, I’m starting to get into the groove. This week is about reviewing the Mesquite tutorials and then getting the code behind them to be able to write a detailed project plan for what I’ll code next week. This is going to be at least the third or fourth time I’ve gone through them, so I’m starting to catch the big picture.

I love that feeling.

I get the sense that as I keep at this (programming, that is) I’ll be able to hold bigger and bigger programs in my head. Maybe it’ll take shorter to comprehend other people’s programs too? I hope.

Today I showed a friend some a program I’d done in Processing. I hadn’t looked at it in a while, but the code was still completely fresh in my mind and I had no problem showing him around.

I kept thinking -why aren’t piano pieces like that? La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin is already slipping away and I’ve only had it on the shelf for a week. Probably because I’m relying too much on muscle memory and haven’t put in enough time to memorize the notes. Gould had the right idea, reading scores like books..

Doing some reading on IEEE standards and came across NaN values; Not-a-Number values.  Now every time I see my friend Nan I think, “You are not a number.” As if I need anymore bad inside jokes with myself. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

